top of page


The work of the Vestry

The Vestry is the governing body of St. Matthew’s, working with the Vicar to offer leadership in ministry and care for the resources and property of the Church.  With a total of seven members, with new members elected each year in January at the Annual Parish Meeting to serve a three-year term.  Vestry officers include the Senior Warden (appointed by the rector), the Jr. Warden (having primary responsibility for care and maintenance of the buildings and grounds, chosen by the Vestry), the clerk, and the treasurer.  

Vestry meetings generally take place on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. These meetings are on Zoom.  

Who can run for Vestry?  Active, Confirmed Members in Good Standing may run for election to the Vestry.

2024  Vestry

Senior Warden: The Senior Warden is the lead lay person of the Vestry. The Senior Warden is in charge of the Vestry if the Vicar of the church cannot be present. Junior Warden: The Junior Warden watches over the grounds and buildings of the church, and is second to the Senior Warden. The Junior Warden is appointed by the vestry members.

For 2024 Our Vestry Consists of the Following People:

Lee Storey, Senior Warden (term ends 2026)

Melinda Hood, Junior Warden (term ends 2026)

Susan Alford (term ends 2026)

Fanny Neely (term ends 2027)

Tanya Kennedy (term ends 2027)

Deborah Hansen - Treasurer, appointed

Deborah Hansen - (term ends 2024)
Chris Yarberry -  (term ends 2024)

Vestry Reports

Mailing Address:

St. Matthew's Episcopal Church
1112 Alcoa Road

Benton Arkansas 72015
Phone: (501) 776-4176

bottom of page